Saturday, July 29, 2006

UN Mission Announces International Committee of the Wise

The UN Mission in the Congo,known by its French acronym MONUC, announced an international committee of the wise to assist in the transition process from election day until a new government is put in place.

Its purpose is to support the five transitional institutions (see below)and to aid in the resolution of any electoral disputes.

The committee is made up of Joaquim Chissano, former Mozambican president, Nic├ęphore Soglo, former Prime Minister of Benin, former Senegalese Prime Minister Mame Boye and the former president of the Tanzanian president of the Independent Electoral Commission, Justice Lewis Makame.

The committee was created at the behest of the Congo's five transition support institutions Independent Electoral Commission, The High Authority of the Media, The Truth and reconciliation Commission, The National Human Rights Observatory Commission and the Commission of Ethics in the Fight Against Corruption with the support of the African Union and the United Nations).


Post a Comment

<< Home